Spinach and Parsley Pesto

Here I was all set to do some kind of Mexican Chicken in the Slowcooker for dinner (have I mentioned that I love my Slowcooker?)
But as I was searching for different ideas I came across some Stuffed Chicken Breast recipes. Dang, now I feel like that instead…

I only have Parsley out in the garden at the moment but wasn’t sure if I wanted to do a Parsley Pesto or not so I thought I’d grab some Spinach out of the freezer and throw that in too. The result is delicious and I am hanging out for my Pesto Stuffed Chicken for dinner!
Not too bad for a recipe born out of what I had on hand!

image

Feel free to sub for what you have on hand/You will need:

A Small Handful of Fresh Parsley – or sub with Basil or try Mint
3 Small Handfuls of Spinach – if using frozen, thaw and squeeze out the excess liquid
A small handful of Almonds – or sub with Walnuts or Cashews
Zest and Juice of half a Lemon
3 Garlic Cloves – Peeled
A small handful or Sharp Cheddar – or sub for Parmesan
Generous amount of Rock Salt and Pepper
Olive Oil

Add all your ingredients except for the Olive Oil into your food processor and blitz until mixture turns into a thick paste. Next add in your Olive Oil while your food processor is running, add as much or little as you like depending on the desired consistency – you may want to add a lot if you are wanting a Pesto Sauce for Pasta or you may want to only add a little if you are wanting it for a Dip.

Great over Pasta, Stuffed into a Chicken Breast or Mr 2 was devouring it on Rice Crackers!

image

Leave a Reply

